ChattyCafe…

A place for friends to keep in touch

The Couch vs Goodwill

I’m gonna step back in time to 1993, the yr I got my first apartment. I wanted to have my own place prior to getting married that June. So in Feb/Mar I found a cheap apartment for 210 a month and it included heat. I was ready to move in. I went to the Dollar store and bought some cheap replicated china plates and a box of mixed plastic silverware for 4 and plastic cups for $.25 each. Oh yea think I got a few dish towels too. So for less than 5 bucks I could entire 3 guests it was awesome. I felt so proud. So I move in on Feb 15th with pro-rated rent of course, I had found a table for $15.00 at a garage sale a few yrs prior and kept it in my parents basement insisting that some day I would need it. I moved all my stuff in and arranged the items throughout my new place. I didn’t have much and thinking back all the stuffed animals I collected as a child didn’t look as good for decorations as I thought they had. It hit me I didn’t have any furniture to sit on.

I needed a couch, so off to Goodwill I went. I found this awesome huge couch for only $25.00, I had to have it, it had 4 cushions and it was a lovely shade of burnt orange. So I bought it and used my friend’s fiance’s truck. Getting it through the door was no small feat for it was a very long couch and I lived on the 2nd deck. After much swearing and getting hands smashed between the stairs and that damn couch we got it in. I was so excited I had furniture. I got married a few months later and summer hit well that couch started to emit some funky smell and it had to go. The hotter it got the worse it smelled. I called Goodwill and they came out and wouldn’t take it. I was pissed and told the guy that Goodwill will take this couch back whether they wanted it or not. After all summer was almost over and it would no longer smell while cold out.

Later that night the truck was brought back over and I made John and our friend Phil haul that smelly, ugly, thing out of my apartment at 11:30 at night. Right down the road was a drop off trailer for guess who????? That’s right GOODWILL. It was dropped off at midnight with a sign that said here’s your damn couch back. I drove past 2 days later, the couch was gone and they had taped a sign to their trailer that said…”Please do NOT leave any furniture at our drop off points”

12/11/2009 - Posted by | A la'carte | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. What I find most telling about this post is your use of the word “deck”. LOL. Navy Brat days all come flooding back…

    Comment by Jennifer | 12/11/2009 | Reply

  2. LMAO I didn’t even realize I used the word deck. Only you would notice that lolol

    Comment by Heather | 12/11/2009 | Reply


Leave a comment